Page 3

Page 3

Hello guys,

 

As every week, a new page is out and I have to say that I am really happy about how it finally looks.

I have been working two days in a row on the color for this one and I really like the final result. 

 

My inspiration of the week is a book that I read in a comic book store... Framed Ink by Marcos Mateu-Mestre. Oh My God, It is AWESOME.


First, the illustrations in black and white are beautiful. They are very realistic and have this "noir" feel that I love so much. I would spend hours without reading any of the information, just looking at each detail of the inks. That reminds me that I have to work on that, cause that gives style to the drawings.


Then, there are also a lot of explanations on how to tell the story with images. For example, how to add suspense or set the rythm in an action sequence. My favourite part of the book talks about symbolics in the frame, visual clues that would express a feeling or lead to the next sequence. It could be a character surrounded by bad guys in a certain way, or the motion of people in a chase sequence.

 

It made me think a lot more about the flow of the pages, and the use of black tones for my project. I like the way it looks on this page. I'll try to continue in that direction for the following ones.

Thanks for passing by, and tell me what you think about it in the comment section below.

Leave a message on Facebook or on Twitter if you feel like it.

 

See you next week.

 

Jrej

 

Ps: Please see the link for "Framed Ink" on the left-hand side if you're interested.



Shades Of Men Newsletter

* indicates required

Write a comment

Comments: 0